Quotes: Fr Leo Rock, S.J.

“When we convince ourselves that what we know is all there is to it, we close our minds to the element of mystery in all that is. We do this when we reduce ourselves or others to what we know, or think we know, about ourselves and others. We do this when we reduce God to what we know, or think we know, about God. The simple truth is there is more to us than we can ever know, more to life than we can ever know, infinitely more to God than we can ever know of God. Each time we have the courage and honesty to recognize and accept ‘I really don’t know,’ we open our minds to the mystery of all that is, a richness so vastly more than anything our minds can contain.”
Fr. Leo Rock, S.J. from Making Friends with Yourself: Christian Growth and Self-Acceptance

“Killing time. How do I kill time? Let me count the ways. By worrying about things over which I have no control. Like the past. Like the future. By harboring resentment and anger over hurts, real or imagined. By disdaining the ordinary, or rather, what I so mindlessly call ordinary. By concern over what’s in it for me rather than what’s in me for it. By failing to appreciate what is because of might-have-beens, should-have-beens, could-have-beens. These are some of the ways I kill time. Jesus did not kill time, He gave life to it. His own.”
Fr. Leo Rock, S.J.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

